“I’ve been around long enough to know how ignorant I am. I don’t assume the universe obeys my preconceptions.”

Sikozu S.S.S. Shanu: “Do you have any idea how small you are?”

Dominar Rygel XVI: “You’re not exactly a giant yourself.”

Sikozu: “You have been reduced in size! You’re hardly bigger than a filima bug now! Except–Except this can’t be happening.”

Rygel: “Can’t it?”

Sikozu: “No, no. Reduction by proportionately subtracting atoms would leave our brains too simple to function.”

Rygel: “So? Maybe they just made all our atoms smaller.”

Sikozu: “But then we couldn’t breathe normal sized air molecules, don’t you see? No, no. This isn’t happening because it is not possible.”

Rygel: “Your brain isn’t functioning. Do you think this is all just a hallucination? Do you like that explanation better, hmmm?”

Sikozu: “No, but I simply cannot comprehend how…”

Rygel: “Neither can I. Who cares? We’re here, they did it, and that’s that. You consider yourself intelligent?”

Sikozu: “Yes, I do.”

Rygel: “Then stop behaving like a child.”

Sikozu: “I am not a child!”

Rygel: “No, you’re an infant! You’ve studied, but you haven’t experienced. You know nothing of life.”

Sikozu: “And you do?”

Rygel: “I’ve been around long enough to know how ignorant I am. I don’t assume the universe obeys my preconceptions. Ha! But I know a frelling fact when it hits me in the face.”

(Farscape s04e8 – “I Shrink Therefore I Am”)

Share Your Thoughts

